Now Reading
THE RUTS DC per un’unica specialissima data italiana – Live di Capodanno @ Covo Club, Bologna 31- …

THE RUTS DC per un’unica specialissima data italiana – Live di Capodanno @ Covo Club, Bologna 31- …
The Ruts DC were formed from the ashes of legendary punk band The Ruts, after vocalist Malcolm Owen died on the 14th July 1980. They made two albums, the classic post-punk ‘Animal Now’ and the dub reggae stylings of ‘Rhythm Collision Vol.1’, before disbanding in December 1982. Before their split, however, they played a string of gigs throughout Europe and the USA where a young Henry Rollins witnessed the band play a life affirming show on Saturday 16th October at the 9.30 Club in Washington DC. Rollins was already a huge Ruts fan and when in 2007 the band reformed for the first time in twenty-seven years to play a benefit gig in London for their guitarist Paul Fox, following his diagnosis of lung cancer, John ‘Segs’ Jennings (bass and vocals) and Dave Ruffy (drums) needed a big man and presence to fill original vocalist Malcolm Owen’s shoes, persuading Rollins to fill in on lead vocals for the now fabled gig at the Islington Academy on the 16th of July 2007.

Paul Fox died on the 21st of October the same year. The show was a perfect, righteous celebration. The band had regained their integrity and given their dear friend Paul a great send off.  It also brought the band back together again and at the suggestion of their engineer Steve Dub, they set to work on another dub album with Mad Professor titled ‘Rhythm Collision Vol. 2’. Then in December 2011, the Alabama 3 (who Segs had worked with both as a musician and producer) offered the guys a support slot on their U.K tour. Segs and Ruffy recruited guitarist Leigh Heggarty, Molara (Zion Train) to help out with vocal duties and Seamus Beaghen (Iggy Pop) on keyboards. The Ruts DC was a band again!

After several UK and European tours the band went back to being a trio with Leigh remaining on main guitar duty. Not wanting to be part of just a nostalgia scene, the band set about writing new material and felt the time was right to make another rock album. In May of this year Ruts DC returned with the single ‘Psychic Attack’, heralding their rebound to rock in dramatic style, with three-minutes of high-energy, adrenalized fury! And now, following two intensive years of writing and recording, The Ruts DC are finally ready to unleash ‘Music Must Destroy’ upon the world, due for release the 16th of September via Westworld/Sosumi Recordings.

September 9th sees the single release of the anthemic title track. Stirring and rousing, the song builds in tension and drama with a chorus hook that instantly embeds itself into your brain. Henry Rollins duets with Segs on the track, bringing everything nicely full circle, adding his unmistakably powerful voice to the songs potent music and message. “We are not your property,” they both chant as the song reaches its crashing crescendo. The Ruts DC are very much back.

The band also play Rebellion Festival at Blackpool Winter Gardens on
Saturday August 6th